style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 6305 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

I'm currently renting. We were never shown an inventory, never signed one, never had a check-in inspection.

Just wondering - does this mean that they cannot legally deduct any of my deposit?

I'm not going to trash the place or do anything silly, but I might put a few picture hooks up and things.

Yes JJ it does mean that. They cannot deduct without a fully detailed and signed inventory.

7 years in retail customer service

Expertise in letting and rental law for 6 years

By trade - I'm an IT engineer working in the housing sector.

Please note that any posts made by myself are for information only and should not and must not be taken as correct or factual. If in doubt, consult with a solicitor or other person of equal legal standing.

Please click the star if I have helped!!

We didn't take our own inventory. We did take some pictures as the builders and decorators who had refurbished the flat had left the place rather untidy and unclean.

Correct me if I'm wrong: in the end, if they cannot prove the initial state of the property, there is absolutely NOTHING they can do to try and deduct money from the deposit, and any attempt to do so would fail miserably in court.

Correct JJ basically.

Please note that any posts made by myself are for information only and should not and must not be taken as correct or factual. If in doubt, consult with a solicitor or other person of equal legal standing.