Discrimination due to a criminal conviction

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 5318 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

I received a driving disqualification in April this year. I have now received my license back and its clean (i.e there are no points on it) but I am having major difficulties in obtaining a job on moving to a new area.

I have a Degree in Psychology as well as an HND in Business Management and have been applying for various roles within the NHS, CPS, Prison Service and the Council. However, I am not even getting interviewed for any positions and feel this could be due to the fact that I am disclosing on the application forms that I have a criminal conviciton.

Would a driving disqualification be classed as a criminal conviction and if so, do prospective employers have the right to decline me even an interview due to this?

I hope someone can help as I've now been out of work for over 2 months.

Legally, discrimination can only be on certain specific grounds: age, sex, race, disability, religion or belief and sexual orientation.

Therefore, you can not be discriminated against because of the reason you mention.

Thanks.

I received a 6month driving disqualification in relation to a driving offense. I feel it may prevent me getting employment within my chosen career as it is now classed as me having a criminal record.