Help! Apparently I'm not entitled to JSA!

NH123
style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 5225 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hello

I graduated in July, and have been living in a house with 5 other people since. In November I applied for JSA and housing benefit, only to be told that I'm not entitled to anything because of my living arrangements. This is the situation:

My girlfriend lives with us in the house. She makes over the £100 a week threshold that prevents a 'partner' from claiming JSA.

This is ridiculous; she has her own room, pays her own rent (the same amount as the other 5 of us) in a 6 bed flat. We do not share any money and she in no way supports me, and even if she wanted to she can barely afford rent as is it.

In terms of money or bills or everything else she is exactly the same as my 4 other house mates. She just happens to be my girlfriend. It's not like we're married or anything.

I'm so annoyed about this... Does anyone have any advice that can help before I lose my mind!?

did you tell them she is your girlfreind if not or go back tell them you are not boyfreind girlfreind ...erika may be on later she can advise but you will need to put more information on here like did you inform them you were a couple ?

When I was giving information for the claim over the phone I mentioned that she was my girlfriend; I don't want to lie about anything! I had no idea that it would mess everything up so badly.