Misuse of Freedom Pass - 1st Letter received and running out of time

Dear CAG Members,

I've stumbled onto this forum following Google searches following receiving a letter from TFL of my stupidity of using my Partner's Freedom Pass. I've read through some threads on here and I couldn't find anything similar to my case and would appreciate if you could guide me on what to do next. The main goal is not to get a criminal record. I work in the Financial Industry as an admin staff in The City. 

There's no excuses for my actions and I was stopped last Thursday 25th January 2024 for misusing his Freedom Pass. I only received the letter on Tuesday 30th, and aware that I have 10 days to respond, to which my time is running out. (Letter dated 26th)

I Googled and reached out to a Solicitors firm yesterday, Thursday 1st February, I am about to pay the fee for an initial consultation, I am awaiting from them to tell me how to make payment. This is before finding this forum, CAG, yesterday evening.

They have said in their email, with cases like mine, they would estimate at this stage that the likely chance of success settling the matter outside of court would be approx 30%. They said they've had successful cases in the past.

I would like ask if you guys think it's advisable to use their service. (£360 inc VAT for the initial meeting, and then £960 inc VAT for them to write to TFL on my behalf with full mitigation to ask for an out of Court settlement. They would liaise with the prosecutor dealing with my case directly and proactively chase for a response and decision)

Or would it be advisable to write something in my own words, like others have done so on this forum. I am not good at writing letters in my own words and not sure what should be said or not said in the response.