last minute change of tenancy date?

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 6365 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Saturday morning all ready to move, when i get a call from letting agent saying landlady has changed the moving in date!

Now we have a piece of paper (the receipt for letting agents fees) saying tenancy to start on 18th November

Can we claim for additional expenses and inconvenience? (we are in now) but the whole thing has been a nightmare!

Did you get my PM cb?

7 years in retail customer service

Expertise in letting and rental law for 6 years

By trade - I'm an IT engineer working in the housing sector.

Please note that any posts made by myself are for information only and should not and must not be taken as correct or factual. If in doubt, consult with a solicitor or other person of equal legal standing.

Please click the star if I have helped!!

Sorry - ok. The tenancy had not begun. But the contract was still in force. This means that you can claim for actual financial loss due to the breaching of the contract. Do you have a copy of the contract signed by her stating the original date?

Please note that any posts made by myself are for information only and should not and must not be taken as correct or factual. If in doubt, consult with a solicitor or other person of equal legal standing.

no afraid not, she didnt sign anything all i have is the 18th stated on the receipt for the admin fees i paid the letting agents and thats when the date was set at as far as i was concerned as i have heard nothing to the contrary until saturday last

Ah....well, no signature means no claim unfortunately CB!