Safestyle UK and Barclays Partner Finance

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 4007 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

I'm new to this and don't know if I have posted in the right place.

Last year I had new doors and windows from Safestyle UK. The salesman persuaded me to take 12 months interest free credit arranged through Barclays Partner Finance with the advice to "pay it off or get a cheaper loan". There was no discussion about affordability and no income/expenditure assessment. My (then) partner assured me that he would pay the full amount before it came due.

The payments are due to start in August. My "partner" has gone missing (with 20k of my money). I have tried to get another loan but because of my income I can't. Even adding it to my mortgage has been refused as I only have 5 years left so to add 7500 to it would be too expensive.

I am now faced with paying 20% APR and my windows are going to cost me over 20K in the next 10 years. I can't afford the repayments and I'm thinking that I might have to sell the home I have worked so hard to keep.

I think that you are in a very bad position. Clearly you should be proceeding against your partner - but if you don't know where he is then that is impossible.

Obviously the best thing to do is to try and get another loan - and if it can be secured on your property it will be much cheaper.

These people have very strict lending criteria but you should try them any way - http://uk.zopa.com/ I have only heard good things about them so far. Search the BBC website for "peer to peer lending"

Additionally I would start making the rounds of brokers. You have time to save the day if you can get a move on.