Rossendales & crown court capital contribution order

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 4077 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hi, I'm a complete newbie, so apologies if I'm in the wrong forum! I hope no one will mind ...

I got myself into a bit of a mess a couple of years ago and, to cut a long story short, pleaded guilty in the Crown Court in August 2011.

I was taken through the application for legal aid (CDS15?) by my solicitor.

I had no income, having had to resign from work and my only equity was the value of my home in excess of the mortgages on it (there are 2).

I was told that I wouldn't have to make a contribution to my defence.

Imagine my horror, then, when I received an Order from Rossendales telling me that I was required to pay £3500 ish to them within 28 days (30 April 2012). I managed somehow to misread the order and thought that I had 28 days after 30.4.12 when, in fact, 30.4.12 was the deadline.

It now seems, after talking to Rossendales, that they intend to enforce recovery!

Help! What do I do?

I'm only receiving JSA and have no other income.

If a bailiff calls, and I'm sure one will, do I have to let him in?

What can he do?

Can he take anything then and there?

I've been in touch with my solicitor but, as yet, I've had no definitive reply from him.

He suspects that the debt ought never have been passed to Rossendales and that it should be returned to the Legal Services Commission immediately!

All very well and good ... if that's what'll happen.

But, will it?

Meanwhile, I'm waiting for that first knock!

Can anyone give me some guidance/advice on what to do, please?

Britannicus

Edited by dx100uk
spacing