Rail caution/prosecution - one stop over on monthly season ticket

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 4520 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hi there,

Like some advice please.

I am a mature medical student. Been abroad many years, and only since August back in the UK in a new area I've never been in before.

I have over-riden one stop on my train season ticket.

My aim was to attend a one-off academic event in the evening, being held one stop past my usual return destination after university.

I was late for my train and I saw no conductor on my journey, which didn't worry me as I assumed I could pay my extension to my season ticket at the destination. This is where my ignorance lies.

I asked railway staff if I could pay on my way out, I didn't try to make a dash. The amount would be under £2.

I had my monthly season ticket confiscated (worth over £80). I had to buy another monthly the next day.

I was questioned brusquely under caution.

A colleague from my medical course was screamed at and asked to leave the area by security, because she clarified a question by the Revenue Protection Officer that was unclear, and that I had misunderstood.

I acted reasonably and with complicity throughout, although I was a little guarded as we are trained not to accept police cautions as medical students.

I am awaiting a letter from the Prosecution Dept.