How important are job "protocols" ?

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 5095 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

I was just wondering how important these are and what might happen to someone who chose not to follow them.... 8-)

The new Head of my school (I work in a school) has decided to remind :confused: us of the protocol of informing him if we decide to even apply for jobs anywhere else.

Firstly, I don't recall ever being told this even by his predecessor and secondly, I don't want him to know in case I get landed with sh*tty tasks from that moment until I get another job somewhere else.. The job is stressful enough as it is.

My view has always been that you only tell your employer if/when you're offered an interview and/or need a reference....

Any thoughts?

I was promoted to teacher last September and am currently on the unqualified pay scale.... but I'm not looking for another teaching role, so probably wouldn't be offered another job at the interview stage. I want to try and move out of teaching, if possible.... it's far too target driven and I'm more geared towards the pastoral welfare of young people anyway.

If I was offered an interview anywhere, then I would tell him.... but I don't think it's his business to know if staff are merely applying. In theory, I could be applying for years!.... which I'm pretty sure would make my life Hell.

Hi,

Are those protocols included in your handbook of employment?

Where can they be found?

---Aut viam inveniam aut faciam---

***All advice given should be taken as guidance... Professional advice should always be taken before any course of action is pursued***