Unfair dismissal/demotion

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 360 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

I currently work as an IT manager.

My wife has been offered a job abroad and I mentioned the possibility to my company to see if I could work remotely (worked 2yrs remotely during covid and only go in 2 x a week now). They refused for me to work remotely and offered for me to step down and become an engineer, until I find a job abroad. 

In the meantime I have found a job for another uk company working remotely (but not confirmed yet due to the company looking at tax rules).

Without me accepting this or even handing in my notice, they have 'restructured' the company and demoted me from manager to an engineer, in effect from this week. I mentioned that this was unfair and that I would seek legal advice and they said If I get lawyers, so will they and that I don't need any added stress at this moment in time.

This is really disheartening as I am not taking a significant pay drop and they feel they are supporting me by offering me to work remotely as an engineer. The move is not scheduled to happen until August/Sept but they have made changes from now. 

Who can I speak to in regards to legal advice?

Do I have a case here for breach of contract/unfair 'dismissal'?

Hello, welcome to CAG.

We don't have qualified legal advisers on employment stuff here, we're all volunteers. But @Emmzzi is very good on employment stuff. Hopefully she'll be along soon.

Are you a member of a union?