Recovering My deposit - a few questions...

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 6358 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Ok, a bit of background first of all....

I am a student and lived last year in a student house under an assured shorthold tennancy that determined on 31/07/06. On that day it was agreed we would get back £385 out of £400 per person (there were 4 of us in the house). But there was a clause in the contract that the deposit would not be retuned until the final bills for the utilities were given over and were shown to have been paid in full.

This seemed reasonable to me but due to the ever-dilligent ST water company, this didnt happen unitl 31/10/06. :(

So, I phoned the LL yesterday to find out where the deposit was (still heard nothing by this stage) and Lo & Behold it has been lost in the post :eek:. How stupid does this bloke think I am!

So I am now getting it back minus the costs of cancelling and re-issuing a cheque, however much he deems that to be. I explained that I was not very happy about this where-upon he invited me round to see the cheque stub to "prove" he'd written me one. Sucessfully styfling a laugh I informed him that that was not proof of postage.

His response was that this would be more than enough proof for anyone should i wish to take it further (no really HOW STUPID??).

Now, I have a few questions...

1. He can't actually deduct for this can he? My mental starting point was that he can't but I have been proved wrong before!

2. If the answer to 1. is yes, does it still stand even though he cant provide proof of P?