driver CPC training

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 4620 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Can anyone help..?

I work as a valeter for a truck hire company and now and then I have to deliver the cleaned vehicle to the customer from small vans up to 7.5t truck for which I hold the correct licence and digital tacho card. And very rarely pick up a load to be delivered to a customer (hauleage) . But driving is not my main job and I never drive more then four hours in a day. The government has made it law that drivers must now take a driver CPC course to continue driving . My company has stated that they will set up course and pay for it. the course will be on a Saturday morning 7am till 2pm after I have worked all week 40hrs . I have asked if I will be paid time and a half or time off in lieu for attending work on Saturday ,,and was told no we are paying for the course but you wont get paid for the hours attending it. Can my employer ask me to attend work and not pay me. Is this legal

If I don’t get my driver CPC I may not be able to do my job in the future

Thanks

They are being a bit crafty here, but of course they have you over a barrel.

If you were to be paid for attending the course, then this would count towards your working week and it would put you in the position where you would need compensatory rest. As the course is a legal requirement (and as you say, no CPC = No Job) then it is completely out of their hands and you wouldn't legally have a leg to stand on. To not do the course you would effectively be considered to put yourself out of work.