Cabot financial with littlewoods barclaycard credit card help please

chik68
style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 4735 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hi, im kinda new to this so please bare with me.

Im looking for some help and advice in regards to a credit card a relative of mine took out from Littlewoods which was financed by Barclaycard. The account went into default years ago after the relative's income was reduced due to a cut in her employment hours at work. Since then the debt has been passed through to several debt collection agencys and is currently with Cabot financial. Through them a payment plan is set up, although there has been continual interest added to the debt which is now increased to more than twice the original value.

Recently i had tried to reduce the debt for this relative by using a no win no fee agency that can claim back credit card charges and interest charges. They won for her nearly £500 back. However when we were trying to process the claim for her the no win no fee agency sent a letter back saying we had said an incorrect reference number. This number had been taken directly from a Cabot statement as we expected it to be correct for the debt she was paying. But we were told it was wrong, so the relative dug out an old copy of a credit card statement and took the credit card number from there. Cabot had been quoting a 13 digit reference number not the 16 digit credit card number. I know most debt collection agencys use the actual credit card reference number usually as well as there own reference number.