End of tenancy Agreement still in the house

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 6383 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

I have been renting a house for the last 12 months on 6 monthly tenancy agreements. I have paid the rent in cash religiously every month without fail. However, 6 months ago the Landlord advised that she wished to sell the house at the end of the agreement and so I would have to vacate. No problem, I went to go buy a house. However this house purchase has taken longer than expected. I have served a notice on intent to vacate to the letting agent, I did put a caveat in there that stated we may wish to stay longer than the 4 weeks notice should the need arise. This was accepted by the letting agent who is also coincidentally the estate agent for the property we are buying. No to the point....

The tenancy agreement expired on the 31st October, I haven't paid any rent so far this month asthe house move should complete in less than 2 weeks so I didn't want to pay a full month for 2 weeks living there. I haven't signed a new agreement for any length of time but I have today received a letter from the letting agent asking for this months full rent and a charge of £25 deucted from the bond because we didn't pay on time....where do I stand legally? By the way I need the bond returning to pay for some of the bills for the house move. I paid the bond in cash can I insist it is returned in cash?

Abbey £4340.59 *WON* Jan 07

Abbey II MCOL 31/03/07 £8800.00

Please note..I AM NOT AN EXPERT ANYTHING WHAT I POST IS PURELY MY OPINION AND MAY BE WRONG IT IS JUST BASED ON MY UNDERSTANDING OR EXPERIENCE