British Credit Trust loan on a car.. early settlement fee

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 3698 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

So I am new to this and have no idea on my rights or not.. I've tried reading lots of other threads, but it just confuses me more. I really hope someone can help shed some light on things, either good or bad. My girlfriend took a car out on a hire purchase agreement over 5 years. The car was for £6,995, and she will end up paying £17,200 (I know.. that hurts..). It ends in November this year.. and I just phoned up to try and end the agreement early, and pay the outstanding balance.. They have said the outstanding balance is £2,400 , and the early settlement figure is £2,350.. or something similar, so hardly saving a thing. She said this was because they remove the interest to decide the early settlement figure, and they 'front load' all their agreements so there was hardly any interest left. They must be laughing all the way to the bank on this one.. but is that really possible and legal for them to do? I was expecting to pay maybe £1,000 to pay it off.. or £1,500. But to save £50? Seems like a final kick in the teeth. Is there anything that can be done? :( Guess it's too late to return the car and cancel the agreement.. the car is probably only worth £2000 as it is. So frustrated.. are we doomed to pay this final £2,400 in full?

She also has various charges levied over the 5 years for letters and so forth.. understand might be able to claim some of that back.. but only just started looking through the paperwork and trying to get my head around it all.