Parking Ticket from Afar

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 6057 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hello folks,

I have recently received a letter from our friends The UK Parking Enforcement Agency requiring me to pay the sum of £85 within 7 days of the letter (which I have unfortunately missed at this stage). The date and time of the alleged offence, however, place me at Aston University, Birmingham on 3rd August. I found this strange at first as couldn't remember being in Birmingham since I graduated (20/07). I found it even stranger when I realised that at the time of the offence I was actually on a train to London and my car was at home, 34 miles away from university.

I have had tickets whilst at university so they undoubtedly have my details but I was defintely not in Birmingham at that time.

I emailed them two days after receiving the letter and did not get a reply. I have sent a letter today (09/10) asking for a copy of the ticket stating I was not in Birmingham by special delivery (but obv won't be there until Thurs due to PO strike!).

I don't have the train ticket but I paid for it by credit card so the record of it will be available.

What action is suggested next?

Should I inform the DVLA that they are either re-using my details or the worse case scenario that someone is using my number plates?

By failing to comply with the notice I am threatened with increased costs of £135 and court action.

The ticket is not the big issue at the moment. The big issue is that your car may have been "cloned". I would suggest you report this pronto.

Nothing in this post constitutes "advice" which I may not, in any event, be qualified to provide.