injury at work - help with my rights please

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 5925 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hi

I have been a beauty therapist now for over 5 years . I have been working at my current job for about 8 months . Just after Christmas i developed pains in my wrists , which has now been diagnosed as Carpal Tunnel for which i need an operation . Recovery time is between 4 - 8 weeks . Although initially i diidnt want the operation , i think i have no choice if i want it sorted .

I have told work and , their initial reaction was to look to maybe re-position me in a different job within the company , cleaning and receptionist part time were mentioned !. I have trained hard to get where i am as a beauty therapist and this is not what i want so i have made it clear i wish to stay as a beaty therapist but i will need to have the operation .

Although they have yet to come back properly to me , they are making noises about whether they can keep my job open or not if i have the operation , hence this is putting me in a pretty unpleasant and uncertain position .

What are my rights re this ? , im thinking as the injury has arisen working for this company they have very little option but to let me have the operation and then get back to my job as soon as possible ? Am i right ?

Can they actually put me out of a job because of this , or forcibly make me do something else within the company ?

Many thanks

Many questions need answering to get anywhere with this, I should know, my claim has been going on for 5 years and about £10k in Solicitor fees and still is not settled.