Coming soon: Spicey v Sainsbury's

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 5871 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

After the recent news that Jen and I are getting married, we decided to have a special dinner party today for family and friends. On Friday Jen bought a huge joint of beef from Sainsbury's, which cost almost £25.

I might not be qualified, but I know I am an accomplished cook, and after almost thirty years of practice I know how to cook a joint of beef. The pack suggested a cooking time of two and a half hours, but I know from experience that three and a half hours is a much better time for a joint weighing in at almost 6lb.

The joint was also marketed as "matured for extra tenderness," so I guessed that this was going to be a really special dinner. To put things in context we have a new cooker (three months old) and everything else was cooked just right. The beef, however, was in the oven for over four and a half hours, and when finally carved it was still mostly raw, and in a word was inedible.

As a result the dinner was a disappointment, the beef was not eaten, and there was great distress all round (luckily no-one was blaming chef...)

My complaint is geared around the fact that a very expensive joint of beef, cooked over and above the recommended time, was inedible. I dread to think of the health risks in general if people do cook meat for the time suggested by supermarkets. I firmly believe that for large joints (ie, those that need a long and slow pre-cook) a much better time guide should be given.