Lots of questions!

jod98
style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 6212 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hi

I have lots of questions about my situation, so I'll give you some background info first:

98-2002 got into lots of debt while at uni - a result of banks throwing money at me and then demanding it back the second I graduated! (Breakdown -£1600 - lloyds decided i owed them this 4 years after a mistake they made put my acct in credit, £4000 - student acct, overdraft turned into loan then renewed, £1500 u/s car loan, 4 credit cards totalling around £2k)

2002-2005 - worked on paying this debt off, first through a debt management agency, and then realised how much i was paying for the privilege, so took over payments. Banks etc. got stroppy, reinstated interest charges and demanded increased payments.

2005-2007 I have moved 4 times and got married. Each time I have moved I have neglected to pass on my new details to some of the more aggressive lenders to give myself some breathing space. I had stopped all payments by early 2006 because the lenders were ignoring all of my attempts to negotiate and responding with the usual standard letters.

I accept responsibility for getting into debt in the first place, but the lenders were so unreasonable when I was in difficulty, the situation escalated. When i look at each dept individually, and take into account charges and interest added to my account, i feel that I have paid a reasonable amount off of each one. Therefore, if my lenders are not able to find me, we're quits. If they do find me, I will take action to deal with each one.