Outrageous decision by County Court - help!

rdobbie

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 5319 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Here's a strange one... wondering if anyone can advise.

A while back I issued a claim via Moneyclaim Online against a company for an amount less than £1000.

A defence was entered and the case was transferred to my local court. Both parties agreed on the Allocation Questionnaires that no expert witnesses would be needed, and that Small Claims track was suitable.

I'm no lawyer but I do believe the claim was an extremely simple one and would have taken no more than 30 minutes of the court's time.

So far, so good.

Then the judge in my local county court allocated the case to the Fast Track and didn't state any reasons for this.

I assumed this was some kind of clerical error so I immediately wrote to the court asking them to confirm it was the Fast Track, and if so, why? I also asked them how I could appeal against this decision, since:

A. The claim was for less than £1000 (I thought Fast Track was for claims over £5000)

B. Both parties asked for it to be dealt with via Small Claims Track

The court wrote back with a very arrogant and abrupt letter, basically saying it was entirely at the judge's discretion, the judge didn't have to explain his decision, and there was no form of appeal!

Now I am being asked for a £275 trial fee to progress the claim (on top of the original £80), and I understand I get clobbered even further for costs etc if I lose in the Fast Track.