bailiffs-can they send me to prison?

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 5675 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hello everyone, this is my first time posting so hope its in the right place and following forum protocol.

I have outstanding debts of about £800 for outstanding council tax, this has been passed to Equita baillifs by my local authority.

I have had several letters and a couple of visits from the lovely people at Equita (note the sarcasm there!)

One letter was particularly unpleasant and hand delivered so I panicked and paid them £200 the next day, I didn't want this thug back at my house again so I rang their office.

They said that it had been passed to an individual baillif and the office could no longer deal with it.

I rang the National Debt helpline who were very helpful and advised me to basically just don't answer the door, if they turn up lock all doors and windows, park my car away from the house, lock garage and make it obvious that I have 2 large german shepherds loose in the house. They also advised that I write to the office with an offer of payment and also a request for a breakdown of charges.

I did this in November 2006, I posted a cheque for £100 and made it clear that I would pay no more until I had a breakdown of charges as I felt they had overcharged.