Reference Charges..!!!

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 5566 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hi All

I was wondering if anyone could give me any ideas on how to proceed...:

My Girlfriend rents a one bed flat and has been there for two years and we are now moving in together and have found a place to live. We have done the reference forms etc and then she gets a letter from her managing agent stating that as they have provided a reference she must pay them £30 plus vat.

Now i used to work as a property manager and did these kind of things all the time and they take a few minutes and most of the time just require printing out and filling in of a form or a verbal reference on How much rent, any arrears/problems, how long is the current tenancy etc.

Its not in her agreement (naturally as that would be an unfair term) but is on a letter from when she moved in about general infrmation.

I was shocked by the charge and told her not to pay but the missus didnt want to kick up a fuss so she wrote to them and offered to pay half as the charge is disproportionate to the amount of work required. She got a snotty letter back saying the charge was valid.

Should we now refuse to pay any of it or is there any legislation i can quote in an argument about the charge. I was thinking of likening it to the recent OFT ruling over bank charges......!

Does anyone have any thoughts or ideas. Any would be appreciated..

Thanks

Damien

Barclaycard

S.A.R sent 18/01/07 :o

7 Day reminder 02/03/07

Some statements rec'd 19/03/07

ICO Complaint 20/03/06

Alea iacta est