Building work at workplace caused asthma attack

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 693 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

I work in retail. At the moment, the store is going through a refit - both on the shop floor and staff areas. The dust from removing old fixtures, sawing of various materials plus the solvent fumes from paint, glues etc has caused the asthma attack. The bulk of the work is happening when shop is closed for trade.

I had my scheduled days off as per normal and thought that being away from that environment was going to help my health as was really struggling on the day before my days off. It did not help. 

Now I am on a first written warning, which expires in late summer for my absences of anxiety and severe chest infections. Employer dropped the verbal warning some years ago.  I should not go through disciplinary for this as its a health n safety issue. Before anyone asks why I didn't wear a mask. I struggle wearing one for 30 mins. The face shields give me headaches as can't cope with the curvature of the shield.

Now in the past, when a shop went through a refit, it closed for about 7-10 days, depending on size and work required. I think its certainly profit over HnS.

The doctor I saw in the drop in centre (rang 111 for appt) said to stay away from work for a few days and certainly the dust and solvents contributed to the attack!

Now, what shall I do? I belong to the union.

Speak to union rep and get a letter from the 111 drs saying the work is effecting your health. 

They need to be putting measures in to protect peoples health. 

I cant believe people are getting written warnings for illness that is discusting IMO.