Response to request for claim to be struck out ** Revamped**

zootscoot
style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 6299 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

• 1 month later...

What Priestly1965 successfully used:

Court Hearing 19/01/07

Firstly can I state that I am not a lawyer and have not had the benefit of expert advice from a barrister. I brought this action after taking advice from the consumer action group who have an ongoing campaign against unfair bank and mortgage charges.

Please do not try to confuse me with legal jargon!

1) Breach

It is not disputed that I had a mortgage with the defendant

The mortgage was for a term of 25 years; it was redeemed before 25 years and is therefore a breach of contract

I accept the contention that redemption of the mortgage was provided for in the mortgage offer. The term provides that an early redemption charge was payable in the event of a redemption and thus represents a charge that is payable in the event of a breach of contract. The term merely anticipates a breach and does not represent the exercising of a right under the contract.

A term imposing an ERC is merely stating what charge will be paid if you breach the term by ending early.

A term which provides for a pre-determined fee in the event of a breach of contract must be a genuine pre-estimate of the losses incurred by the breach if it is to be deemed a lawful liquidated damages clause. If it is excessive it will be an unlawful penalty.

Case law: Bridge –v- Campbell Discount Co Ltd

Dunlop Pneumatic Tyre Co Ltd –v- New Garage Motor Co