JCI/BW Claimform - old TALKTALK Debt - filed wrong defence? - now think it's statue barred? ***Claim Dismissed***

What Next
style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 547 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hi All,

I'm a newbie,

but having completely bamboozled myself reading everything,

my query does not fit in to the standard criteria.

I was refunded by the bank's DD recall for an account that I had not noticed was still being taken by TalkTalk for Broadband/TV/Telephone via DD 2 years after it had been cancelled and I had moved house.

My contract was just over a year, approx up to July 2014 and they were still billing me in Sept/Oct 2016, It was approx £1200, not problem, until I was being rebilled for the same amount as a fresh debt. I tried to reason with them at the time and explain, to no avail, but then heard nothing more.

I was given some mail from a previous, previous address and by chance I found a court summons that was already past the defence filing date. Clearly they were going for a backdoor default judgment as they sent to an address I had lived in previously, but is now an HMO with multiple occupants.

I rang the court and they advised that the client had not called for the default judgment to be entered yet and if I submit my defence immediately I may just get in before they do. I did, but now I have to find the evidence to back up my defence. I have agreed to mediation rather than the stress of going to court. I am awaiting a response.