FAB / IDRWW (credit card)

Hi All.

Firstly I want to pay tribute and saw a massive thank you to the regular posters / admins on this site. Really going above and beyond the call of duty and the help I’ve had - even from afar - has been invaluable.

I won’t bore you with details: my case isn’t different to any other. Made redundant in the pandemic and left without paying a £10k credit card. IDRWW have now been given access to my address and email (ignoring all). I’m still relatively young living back in Scotland with my parents with zero assets and if I’m honest I can’t be bothered with the constant hassle / the risk of having any kind of potential CCJ or court case down the line that could negatively affect my chances of ever getting a mortgage here.

Therefore my plans is to email every head honcho I can find directly at FAB and annoy them with my pleas for a payment plan. I was wondering if there was any legislation I might be able to include in my email now that I’m a UK resident protected by our laws that may entice them further in accepting say £100 per month for 5 years? I believe that if the court proceedings were to begin anyway - one of the mandates would be that everything is done to come to a reasonable and positive solution between the two parties outside of court?

Many thanks to one and all for your consideration and even your two cents if you have an opinion on the matter.

UK Courts quite friendly to foreign debts being enforced here. 

So be careful in offering a repayment plan, as if your circumstances change, meaning you could no longer afford to pay, then you would be extending the time period in  regard to statute barring limitation on debt enforcement.  And you would have a track record of making repayments in the UK, which is you admitting responsibility for repaying the debt.

And what about the interest they would keep adding,  meaning that you repayments were not eating into the capital amount, but mostly covering interest charges.