sent cca, got someone elses details

version302003

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 5524 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hi,

I have been paying a debt to a dca for the last 5 years now and have always paid on time. After reading this site it occurred to me that I actually don't have a clue as to what is owed or how much I have paid.

So i thought i would send a cca request, mainly for a statement of account including charges and payments but also to find out who owned the debt.

They replied with a printout of payments from a computer screen and said they will contact their client to get the agreement. They didnt mention any charges but that doesnt mean there arn't any.

In addition to my list of payments, they have supplied my mothers account details inc. payments and balance. There is no financial link between us.

As you can imagine she is not happy. Can they do this?

Sending someone else's details is a breach of the Data Protection Act. It doesn't matter that they are your mother's details. The debt collector should be reported to the Information Commissioner immediately.

By sending you a printout but showing no details means they have not complied with your request. If you have been paying this company for five years you would at least expect them to have your details to hand so the "we'll have to contact our client" statement is a lame and unaccepatable excuse.