Non payment of invoice - web development

calibra
style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 1363 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

I am an IT contractor with my own Ltd company.

I started building web software for a client 2.5 years ago (lets call it Product 1).

There was never any written contract between us.

I would go in every month, demo what I'd built in the previous month, discuss what my client wanted in the following month, and get an invoice paid for £3000.

As I already have other clients I work for during the day, I worked on the stuff on evenings and weekends.

It was extra income for my company, rather than my main income.

Product 1 has been live for over 2 years, and my client has many of his customers using it.

I'd go as far as to say the software is now the backbone of his company.

In April, he asked me if I wanted to form a new company to build a Product 2, loosely based on Product 1.

I agreed and did 12-18 hour days throughout May on Product 2 (and some Product 1) in May, for which he paid me the standard £3000.

I estimate that at my standard day rate I did 9-12k's worth of work that month.

That was the last invoice I got paid,

During June and July I received many phone calls and emails off both my client, members of his staff and even his customers requesting work, which I then did.

There must be over 100 emails during this period.

I put in a £3k invoice for June at the end of June, and was planning to invoice for July now.

The company never got created.

We had a disagreement on how the company would work regarding salaries.

He then told me he was going to form a new company building Product 2 with another IT consultant.