BankFodder BankFodder

Mary Hart

Leaving property in a will with conditions.

Hi,

I am the sole owner of our family home, where I live with  my partner and our two children. My partner has no interset in the property and we are not married.

I had planned to leave the house to my partner in the event of my death and ultimately it will be passed to our children when he dies (my current will leaves it to him), but he has recently had some financial difficulties. I do not want to leave a house to him that will then be used to settle his debts.

Can I leave the house to the children but state that he can remain in control of it unti lhis death. I say control rather than live in it because I want to potentially provide him with some flexibilty to maybe rent it out if he chooses or to sub let to supplement income.

Thanks for any advice

MH

I'm no trust lawyer or have any particular experience with Wills – but yes you can.

You can leave it to your children with a life interest to your partner. That means that basically the children own the house in trust but whilst your partner is alive then he will have the beneficial interest in it to whatever extent you say and then it will revert to your children when he dies.

Tell him to watch his back!

I'm also no tax lawyer – but I have a feeling that this would be very efficient thing to do – assuming that it is sufficiently valuable to incur inheritance tax. If you leave it to your husband then there will be inheritance tax. If he then leaves it to your children there will be more inheritance tax. My understanding is that if you leave it your children, there will be inheritance tax – but your partner won't have to pay any because he simply takes a life interest

All of this needs checking with somebody who knows