BankFodder BankFodder

Small Business

BES Utilities - Dodgy practicies about supplier default rates..

Hello

I changed from an LLP to a LTD company in December.

As a sole trader I was very busy doing all that needed to be done and in my office alot of the time.

The phone rang constantly with cold callers.

Relentless and eventually I relented and listened to a person from Business Services Compare UK who told me they were an independent energy broker who could get me better deals on my Gas and Electric.

I said I was with the companies I was with and I wasn't interested as I didn't want to incur out of contract rates.

They told me it was illegal for my supplier to do this.

I told them who my suppliers were and they told me my suppliers rates and that they could beat them using a small business energy supplier in Blackpool called BES.

The deal they explained was 5p pkwh cheaper than my current supplier and so it seemed obvious that this made sense to take on such a saving. I was then pushed and rushed through a verbal contract and told BES would be in touch.

I recieved a bill from my old supplier which showed out of contract rates being charged so I called them.

I told them I had been told it wasn't allowed to charge me these rates and they said I had been mislead by the broker.

I called the broker back and another person told me the original sales person was telling the truth and that my old supplier was a liar.

I went back to my old supplier who said I had been misinformed again but as a gesture they cut the bill down for me and asked why I was leaving. I explained the 5p difference pkwh that the broker had told me how they were 26.47 per unit and BES were 19.62 per unit. My old supplier then told me that wasn't true and they were 15.44 per unit.