BankFodder BankFodder

Teddybear154

Problems with Employer advice needed ?

I wonder if any one can help me I work as a head Chef for a small family run pub and hotel. I have worked there for 10 years, 6 years as sous chef then was promoted to head chef.

I have always worked hard never let them down. I've not been happy for a while. The person who runs the business is very elderly and losing there mind, they can barely walk and are very controlling, they wont let any one do their job. Over the last year is has got worse and worse.

They do not follow the law and think they are above the law. 

They have never given staff health and safety training in the whole time I've worked there. All chefs in kitchen dont have food hygiene and safety certificates and have never done any training. 

I have had to pay out of my own pocket to do my training and get a certificate every 3 years my self.  I cant afford to pay for the other staff out of my own money.

They don't buy basic supplies like sanitizer and hand wash. Only when healthy and safety people come they buy itt but stops when they have gone. They says it's too expensive.

They employe people who cant even cook.

I'm meant to be head chef, that mean it's meant to be my job to run kitchen, I should be doing ordering and should have a say in who works in kitchen. But she wont let me order, she has to do it and she always orders what we dont need.

Last Easter she put me on holiday and whist I was away she employed a useless chef, did not even do a working interview or consult me. Gave alot of my hours to him and cut my hours. He got to do breakfast and lunch, did all the food prep and had every evening off, I was made to work just late afternoon and evenings having to serve this other chefs rubbish food. I felt embarrassed to serve his food. It has made me so miserable. I became a chef as I love to cook it's my passion. I spent years training in my profession. And now I dont even cook barely.