Jump to content

 

BankFodder BankFodder


  • Tweets

  • Posts

    • Thank you for the information. I've amended your thread title to show more detail.   If you post up emails or correspondence, please make sure to block out any identifying information.   HB
    • I've had lots of experience with this unfortunately and the best way to deal with it   Use your local Councillor, find their details on Google, Call and email them. They will get the bailiffs off your back immediately and either give you a break from payments or an affordable arrangement.   You should be classified as vulnerable too, come back here to tell us how it went
    • might be better simply ignore everyone and not pay anything move and then when settled  send them each a CCA request as you'll only be having to write again if you CCA now to inform of the move.   nothing no-one can do in 1 month to you that a CCA request wont make them think again.   the other alternate is not bother at all just go as long as you are leaving no property asset. then simply write and state in now living in xxx, bye!!  
    • Hi, Thank you SilverFox and Honeybee, thank you for the welcome, I've put all the details in below and will attach the PDF of the email response and the NTK 1 The date of infringement? 24/10/2019 2 Have you yet appealed to the parking company yet? [Y/N?] Yes if you have then please post up whatever you sent and how you sent it and the date you sent it, Sent by Email on 11th November 2019 Dear Sir/Madam, I parked at Broomfield Hospital, after driving around the staff car parks I could not find a space and eventually parked in patient parking.  I displayed my scratch card alongside my permit which is reference number (ref no taken out).  Kindest regards has there been a response? Response Email received on 14th November2 019 with an attached letter (copied to PDF) Please find important correspondence attached regarding your Parking Charge Notice. DO NOT REPLY TO THIS EMAIL. If you are not satisfied with the outcome of your appeal, you cannot appeal again. You can make a complaint, details on how to do this are detailed at WEBSITE. If you haven't appealed yet - ,.........DONT ! seek advice on your topic have you received a Notice To Keeper? (NTK) [must be received by you between 29-56 days] Yes what date is on it 18th December 2019 (Received in the post after Christmas) Did the NTK provide photographic evidence? No, there is photographic evidence on the first response from them (in the PDF) 3 Did the NTK mention Schedule 4 of the Protection of Freedoms Act 2012 (PoFA) [Y/N?] Yes 4 If you appealed after receiving the NTK, did the parking company give you any information regarding the further appeals process? [it is well known that parking companies will reject any appeal whatever the circumstances] I Have not appealed to them.  I spoke to someone within the hospital trust (car park management) who said he would have a look at the letters, so I sent them by email to him on Wednesday 22nd January.  He responded in an email response received today Tuesday 28th January that he couldn’t waive the charges now – I can send you the email 5 Who is the parking company? Gemini Parking Solutions London Ltd PO Box 2525 Buckhurst Hill IG8 1HR 6. where exactly [Carpark name and town] did you park? Car park at Broomfield Hospital, Broomfield Chelmsford Essex .............................     ............................. PDF for OCT PCN.pdf
    • had me worried there.   as with all these erudio claims, they'll most probably let it get stayed. none that have filed sb to date have gone anywhere   dx
  • Our picks

rennai

faulty car transaction

Recommended Posts

26 Dec 2019 bought 2005 toyota corolla verso for £1600 from trader on gumtree.

Two days after car broke down, smokes coming out exhaust, Oil change & EML came on.

Since then I've had 6 breakdowns and AA reports said DPF, EGR Valve problems.

Car can't go into regeneration.

 

Rang trader on mobile posted on ad Gumtree (Bowden Cars Ltd based in Dukinfield) but no response,

google bowden cars found the website and rang landline

they said it wasn't them that someone must have used their business name without permission,

 

I rang them back after couple of days saying I raise a court claim against them

they then said it seems I dealt with a guy from Bangladesh who they have had complain in the past that he uses their company name to sell cars,

I asked why is the guy not answering they said that the guy traveled to Bangladesh,

They refused to provide further details of where he lives, etc

 

I have spent over £350 on diagnostics from Toyota dealer, full service, fixing brakes, wheel alignment, but the car is still misfiring, sluggish to drive and too much smokes still coming out of exhaust.

 

I saved screenshot of ad on gumtree where on trader described car as excellent condition.

We exchange text msg via whatsapp so that's saved.

 

However it is strange that when I test drive said car no smoke from exhaust, except scratches and dents due to age and spongy brakes and loose handbrakes which I don't mind fixing.

 

I have receipt and small green slip (new keeper's), and transfer to trader was done online via dvla and I have got V5C. 

 

I don't know if I can raise a claim against company name, as I don't know the guys name and transaction wasn't done in a garage.

He said he buys and sell cars via gumtree.

Any help will be appreciated please.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Cripes that was a lot of money for a 15 yr old Verso too.  Corollas are normally unimpeachably reliable, especially the Corolla, so I bet that one had done an interstellar mileage and clocked.  

 

I think it's sold as seen and that's it, you won't have any comeback. You were unlucky , these are normally fantastic cars, best to trust your feelings, look for a service history and not pay anymore than £700 ish for one of those.


We could do with some help from you.

PLEASE HELP US TO KEEP THIS SITE RUNNING EVERY POUND DONATED WILL HELP US TO KEEP HELPING OTHERS

 

 Have we helped you ...?         Please Donate button to the Consumer Action Group

 

If you want advice on your thread please PM me a link to your thread

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

so it was a guy claiming to be the dealership but was nothing to do with them?

 

dx

 


..

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi Rennai,

 

Did you go to the address of Bowden Cars Ltd in Dukenfield, or somewhere else when you bought the car.

 

If it was somewhere else, I think you've been had.

 

What was the mileage showing ?


We could do with some help from you

                                                                PLEASE HELP US TO KEEP THIS SITE RUNNING

EVERY POUND DONATED WILL HELP US TO KEEP HELPING OTHERS

 

                                            Have we helped you ...?  Please Donate button to the Consumer Action Group

 

Please give something if you can. We all give our time free of charge but the site has bills to pay.

 

Thanks !:-)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
10 hours ago, London1971 said:

 

I think it's sold as seen and that's it, you won't have any comeback. You were unlucky , these are normally fantastic cars, best to trust your feelings, look for a service history and not pay anymore than £700 ish for one of those.

 

Sorry, but I have to take issue with this idea of "sold as seen".

The phrase "sold as seen" is often bandied around but it's not really a legal term and doesn't necessarily have any legal effect.

If you buy something from a trader or somebody who represents themselves as a trader then "sold as seen" certainly doesn't apply at all. You can't simply contract out of your statutory consumer rights. The news you can get is that if you inspect a vehicle then you are taken to have accepted any defects which that inspection might reasonably have uncovered. On that basis, – and amazingly – it could be better not to inspect a vehicle (although I wouldn't advise it).

From a private seller, you don't have statutory rights – but on the other hand you have common law rights. Those are unwritten rights based on reasonable dealings between two parties of broadly equal standing.

An item might be "sold as seen" if the seller is acting with absolute honesty and integrity – but if it can be shown that a private seller knew – or reasonably should have known of defects in the item that they were selling then I can imagine that a judge would have little difficulty in accepting that the seller was in breach of the contract.

I'm quite sure that "sold as seen" depends on absolute good faith.

In the story we have been given in the first post to this thread, we have been told that the seller has represented themselves as a particular trader. If they are that trader then they are saddled with statutory duties. If they aren't that trader then they have misrepresented themselves and they are still saddled with those statutory duties.

Of course if you have been misled as to the identity of the seller then your problem will be to find that seller and to hold them to account. I'd say you have a problem.


Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 14/01/2020 at 21:59, London1971 said:

Cripes that was a lot of money for a 15 yr old Verso too.  Corollas are normally unimpeachably reliable, especially the Corolla, so I bet that one had done an interstellar mileage and clocked.  

 

I think it's sold as seen and that's it, you won't have any comeback. You were unlucky , these are normally fantastic cars, best to trust your feelings, look for a service history and not pay anymore than £700 ish for one of those.

Body work isn't too bad and mileage was 128,000 miles and I thought it's okay for diesel car of that age, and it's a 7 seater which I desperately needed. On gumtree the seller has a bit of history in selling cars. I might contact Gumtree but I'm unsure if they can give me more details about this trader given that dvla refused to provide further details but only said car was transferred to a trader, and then dvla guy said I can fill and submit particular form (V88 I think) if need further details.

 

I checked mot history of car and all seems ok no note of previous engine fault, and on physical inspection no oil leak, etc. When I'm buying used am more particular about engine problem as i don't mind fixing other stuff.

 

WhatsApp message from trader to me: "SK14 1QQ Burkitt Street Hyde pls let me know what time you'll be coming"

 

I just got this address from Bowden Cars website: John Street, Hyde SK14 2HB

 

So it's different, I sincerely thought said trader was a small scale car dealer who uses gumtree to sale cars, I didn't know he was dodgy. On the slip he filled in Bowden Cars Ltd but, on Bowden's website the seems to be alot of cars on display

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Where was the transaction done? I take it you didn't go to the showroom?


We could do with some help from you.

PLEASE HELP US TO KEEP THIS SITE RUNNING EVERY POUND DONATED WILL HELP US TO KEEP HELPING OTHERS

 

 Have we helped you ...?         Please Donate button to the Consumer Action Group

 

If you want advice on your thread please PM me a link to your thread

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

  • Recently Browsing   0 Caggers

    No registered users viewing this page.


  • Have we helped you ...?


×
×
  • Create New...