NorthernRed1984

Employer Claiming Breach of Contract & Bribery

Good Afternoon,

Hoping someone can help. I recently worked for a company for two years, from November 2017 to September 2019.
I was promoted twice within this period and in May 2019 demoted, in what my eyes was an unfair demotion.
I left the company on 2nd Sept 19 and was given 4 weeks gardening leave, in lieu of my notice period, and did not work for anyone else. 
I commenced work on 5th October for a competitor, which my ex employers clearly dont like and they have now commenced legal action against me, believing I must have taken a bribe before i left, in exchange for sets of Data (I worked in Sales).
The legal case is accusing me of taking £2,000 in exchanging for the said data, which did not happen and then leaving the company.
There is no evidence of any wrongdoing as this didn't happen but they have one person, accusing that the money was offered, which it wasnt.

I have been sent legal letters from a solicitor trying to bully me into accepting I took a bribe of some description and accept all liabilities - which I clearly won't do as did nothing wrong

I left the company purely due to what I saw as an unfair demotion, decrease in pay and them reducing my salary by £1500 per year.
I am looking to find out the legalities, as I have been hounded and harassed by the old company since i left over a month ago and even though I work for a competitor now, there is absolutely no substance to what is being said.
My new company are deemed a competitor, but I worked my gardening leave, so cannot see an issue my side.

Please can someone advise.

2 issues, and you’d be better looking at them / dealing with them separately.

1) Use of commercially sensitive info : you deny this and put them to strict proof of it

2) Taking a job with a competitor : is there anything in your contract with the first employer that limits you working for a competitor / within a set period of time? 

Hi Bazza,