Quagmireuk

Vehicle damaged by contractors a little advise please

Firstly admin if I've put this in the wrong section I'm sorry please move if possible. 

So series of events are as follows 

Monday leaflet through the door stateing some construction to be carried out on my street.  

Tues 2pm ish I pop home to grab a bite to eat and find a trench in the road less than 1 metre fom my car . I hit the roof if I'm honest ( I'm a car guy and am very anal about the cars I own ) my car was covered in cement and dust as well as being damaged by debris from the cutting and breaking up of the road .I'm a contractor myself and fully understand how much these machines can cause  damage 

To be fair the site supervisor arrived and admitted it was unacceptable and gave me the contractors managing directors email address . Now he has offered to have my car cleaned "at a reasonable cost " however the cars paint has been damaged and will be a costly repair 

So I'm looking for advise on the best way to proceed with this as I'd like to have input into any repairs etc 

Obviously I took photos and have CCTV footage of them pulling debris etc from my vehicle 

Thanks in advance  Craig 

20190326_204128.jpg

Start off by getting to independent quotations for the repairs. Make sure they are both from reasonable quality repairers. You don't need to be cheapskate.

Secondly, write out a full statement as to what happened including lots of he said she said. This will come in useful at some point. Do it as quickly as possible and make sure that you time and date when the statement is made.

It is important here that you don't get drawn into any protracted negotiations. You may find that they all appear to be willing at the beginning but when you start producing the bills et cetera you will find that they tried to drag it out and that becomes tiring and it whittles down one's resolve.