BankFodder BankFodder

Adeeeee

field service start/finish times

style="text-align:center;"> Please note that this topic has not had any new posts for the last 451 days.

If you are trying to post a different story then you should start your own new thread. Posting on this thread is likely to mean that you won't get the help and advice that you need.

If you are trying to post information which is relevant to the story in this thread then please flag it up to the site team and they will allow you to post.

Thank you

I work as a field service engineer and my contract states that I am home based.
I live approximately 50 miles from head office but due to roadworks and congestion this drive usually takes from 75 to 120 minutes and am expected to travel into the office to collect and return items. In the last few months I have been required to work at head office regularly due to lack of call outs.

I am contracted for 40 hours per week and anything above this is paid at overtime rate.
Recently as I say, I can be in the office most of the week and I have to be there for 9am which means I must leave home around 7-7.30am but I do not get paid until 9am and cannot leave till 5pm meaning I don't get home till 6-30pm ish

My contract as I said, is home based and says my usual place fo work is my home address and mentions nothing about working at the office.
Overall if I work in the office most of the month I am effectively working an extra 3 hours per day so 60 hours per month that I do not get paid for.

Is this legal?

I feel that I should either have to leave home at 9 and arrive around 10-30am or get paid from when I leave home until I return

Under present UK government guidelines, time spent travelling at work does count towards your working hours. However “normal travel to and from work” and “travelling outside normal working hours” does not.

https://www.bishopandsewell.co.uk/2015/10/05/when-is-commuting-time-working-time/

Regards

Andy