Jump to content

 

BankFodder BankFodder


  • Tweets

  • Posts

    • Hi.   Could you let us have the information requested in the forum sticky please? This will help us to advise you. In the meantime don't worry too much about this.     HB  
    • So last August my girlfriend went to Legoland with the kids (4 & 8) and her mum and then went to Pizza Express in Windsor. They parked at Castle Car Park.    They paid to park and went to eat. They were then a few minutes late back. There was already an attendant issuing a ticket. The attendant then waited until my girlfriend was over ten minutes late to issue the ticket despite her being there well within any grace period.   My girlfriend appealed to Ultimate Customer Solutions end of August but did not receive a response (they later said they emailed a rejection which my girlfriend never received until it was resent). Then in August she received the first debt collection letter. Then my girlfriend was advised to respond to UCS requesting an Subject Access Request (SAR) which they have not ever acknowledged or responded to.    So then we thought they had gone away until we received a letter from CSB solicitors (same address as UCS) advising they would be beginning court proceedings against my girlfriend. I told my girlfriend to complain that they haven't responded to any of our requests so she called the number of UCS and was basically accused of being rude to the t*** at the end of the phone. She wasn't but he wasn't very helpful and said they had responded to the appeal and sent it again. This was on the 16th January 2020.    On the 29th Jan this was sent after another chase to the solicitors:   I have reported UK Parkings ltd to the ICO as they are in beach of GDPR having ignored my SAR request. Further to this I was not notified that my initial appeal had been rejected and therefore cannot further appeal in a standard way and therefore I am awaiting further advice for ways to appeal against this unfair PCN.   As it stands should you decide to further contact me in regards to this matter without good cause I shall be seeking legal advice as per my statutory rights.   My girlfriend then received another letter from UCS threatening debt collectors (I told her not to worry about this) and so she wrote to the solicitors asking for an update:   Email dated 21/02/2020 I am writing to you regarding my email sent on 29th January, below. I still have not received a response from you and I left a voicemail for a solicitor to call me from CSB Solicitors, which I have also not received. I would like to speak to a solicitor regarding this PCN.   The solicitor responded via email the following: Dear Madam,   Thank you for your email.   Following your email below, we reverted this matter back to our Client for their instructions. We will only be able to respond more fully once these are received.   At this stage we have no further instructions other than to send out a letter to you dated 16 January 2020.   We hope to be able to respond more fully once these are received.   Yours faithfully,   Solicitor   So UCS are not actually doing anything they should do but nobody we have complained to has actually come back to us so not sure where to take this because I don't have time for court and I would rather just have someone take the (insert appropriate word here) to task on these unbelievably poor practices!   Any advice on next steps?   Thanks    
    • Hi Sneezer and thanks for your Site Donation which is much needed and much appreciated.   The info from the "Solicitor" makes sense if you were complaining about how CRS came to have your contact details. However, this is not relevant to your case. You didn't cancel properly and carried on paying for a gym you didn't use.   For the future, see the Guide here about how to cancel a contract properly and avoid trouble - https://www.consumeractiongroup.co.uk/topic/383678-cancelling-your-gym-agreement-get-it-right/     Come back anytime to update us but don't worry about CRS or anyone else who makes demands. Let us know if you need more for advice and reassurance.    
    • They were communicating with lawyers associated to me too   They can’t serve a SD on your lawyers, only you.   As I said earlier - the lawyer stopped communicating  around the date on the SD they incorrectly served.  And the bank told me the receiver was now handling things and not to deal with them anymore.   The receiver never asked me where I was.  But he did email and I did reply or he did get auto reply.   Since I did have email communication with them - I don't think they could say they did everything possible to find me,  All they had to do was ask!  And then we could have discussed the situation.    It almost is the reverse - they did nothing to try find me.  And if a PI is employed to do surveillance then he must have realised only one person - the wrong one - lived at the  wrong address.   Does anyone have any info re post #26 and #28 above?   The property is being marketed for sale and the receiver is negotiating offers, so there was no reason for me to expect bank/ lawyers to be trying to locate me to serve any papers.      Surely any loss to them has to be proven upon an agreed sale.  It hasn't sold yet,   They may still get a high enough offer to prevent any large debt?  There could then be a different discussion re terms of repayment?   So I was not expecting anyone to be trying to find me!   But this is a bit of a digression from what  should I be doing NOW? Should I send them an SAR?  If they do intend to serve me correctly this would be useful, yes?   I am sure they have added all sorts of unnecessary costs to the debt that could be challenged?   Also there is a question over if they even had a valid notice of assignment?  They would have to produce that in the SAR wouldn't they?   This was a real query for me ages ago but it never got pursued legally.
    • Expect them to bring up every communication and claim that you’ve been dodging them / not providing them with an address to serve to.......
  • Our picks

Nick

Park Watch no waiting PCN - Ruby central shopping Center

style="text-align:center;"> Please note that this topic has not had any new posts for the last 379 days.

If you are trying to post a different story then you should start your own new thread. Posting on this thread is likely to mean that you won't get the help and advice that you need.

If you are trying to post information which is relevant to the story in this thread then please flag it up to the site team and they will allow you to post.

Thank you

Recommended Posts

Hi there, it's been a while :(

 

I received a shiny PCN in the post today for NO WAITING after I pulled up at the side of a bank doing a favour for someone.

 

I'm a blue badge holder and didn't get out of the car any help would be gratefully received

 

For PCN's received through the post [ANPR camera capture]

 

please answer the following questions.

 

1 Date of the infringement 24th August 2018

 

2 Date on the NTK [this must have been received within 14 days from the 'offence' date] 05th September 2018

 

3 Date received 06th September 2018

4 Does the NTK mention schedule 4 of The Protections of Freedoms Act 2012? [yes]

 

5 Is there any photographic evidence of the event? yes

 

6 Have you appealed? {y/n?] post up your appeal] Waiting for advice from here

Have you had a response? [Y/N?] post it up

 

7 Who is the parking company? Park Watch

 

8. Where exactly [carpark name and town] Rugby Central Shopping Centre, Service area 3, Rugby

 

For either option, does it say which appeals body they operate under. BPA

pcn0009.pdf

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

thread tidied


please don't hit Quote...just type we know what we said earlier..

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

ok well there is no such thing as no waiting on private land

as you have to 'wait' to read their signs that say 'no waiting' :lol:


please don't hit Quote...just type we know what we said earlier..

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As the idiots have to give you a 10 minute grace period and also a sign saying no waiting or similar is not a contract to park they dont have a leg to stand on. However, being both stupid and greedy they will still try and chisel you for the money.

 

If you want to waste £25 of their money you can appeal to them and when they turn you down to POPLA (that costs them).

The simplest appeal will be that there was no contract offered as there was no such clause as NO WAITING on their signage,

that the phrase is prohibitive and not a genuine offer of terms to park

and in any case they have failed to allow a 10 minute grace period as demansded by the BPA Code of Practice.

All of the above points will beat a court claim and you can sue them for breach of the GDPR for ontaining and processing your personal data unlawfully but none of that will matter to POPLA as they have very limited terms of reference.

 

However, you can show that you have been through the motions and that the parking co have been made aware that their claim has no merit.

 

Normally I wouldnt bother with an appeal but in this case the adjudicator has straightforward matters to consider

- wording on signage and grace period.

 

If they reject your appeal then it will show they break their own rules

Edited by dx100uk
spacing

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I went today and took photos of the signs

41195659_465028440572487_7081156226372861952_n.jpg

41275734_1821216741326083_4253821702577848320_n.jpg

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

are they the ONLY signs?

 

is there mention of no waiting or 10 mins grace period

are they the ONLY signs?


please don't hit Quote...just type we know what we said earlier..

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

it States No waiting at any time but there is no mention of a 10 minute grace period

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

so brief letter as post 4


please don't hit Quote...just type we know what we said earlier..

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You issued me with a parking ticket on 5th September 2018 but I believe it was illegally issued. I will not be paying your demand for payment for the following reasons:

 

 

 

 

• There was insufficient signage

The car park in question has no clear signage to explain what the relevant parking restrictions are. This means no contract can be formed with the landowner and all tickets are issued illegally. Please see attached evidence, no contract offered as there was no such clause as NO WAITING on their signage,

that the phrase is prohibitive and not a genuine offer of terms to park, I have gathered as proof.

 

• Mitigating circumstances

There are mitigating circumstances to explain why the vehicle was parked where it was and the charge should be waived for this reason. Please see attached evidence, I am a blue badge holder due to mobility issues, as proof of claim.

 

• The charge is disproportionate and not commercially justifiable

The amount you have charged is not based upon any commercially justifiable loss to your company or the landowner.

 

In my case, the £100 charge you are asking for far exceeds the cost to the landowner of the short period I was there. I therefore feel the charge you have asked for is excessive.

 

 

If you choose to pursue me please be aware that I will not enter into any correspondence and this will be the only letter you will receive from me until you answer the specific points raised in my letter.

 

Yours faithfully,

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

not illegal unlawful

but that's not the point don't say anything

 

 

simply refer to the blue bit in post 4


please don't hit Quote...just type we know what we said earlier..

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You issued me with a parking ticket on 5th September 2018 but I believe it was unlawfully issued. I will not be paying your demand for payment for the following reasons:

 

 

 

 

• There was insufficient signage

The car park in question has no clear signage to explain what the relevant parking restrictions are. This means no contract can be formed with the landowner and all tickets are issued unlawfully. No contract offered as there was no such clause as NO WAITING on their signage, that the phrase is prohibitive and not a genuine offer of terms to park.

 

• Mitigating circumstances

There are mitigating circumstances to explain why the vehicle was parked where it was and the charge should be waived for this reason. Please see attached evidence, I am a blue badge holder due to mobility issues, as proof of claim.

 

• The charge is disproportionate and not commercially justifiable

The amount you have charged is not based upon any commercially justifiable loss to your company or the landowner.

 

In my case, the £100 charge you are asking for far exceeds the cost to the landowner of the short period I was there. I therefore feel the charge you have asked for is excessive.

 

 

If you choose to pursue me please be aware that I will not enter into any correspondence and this will be the only letter you will receive from me until you answer the specific points raised in my letter.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

the blue bit in post 4 says nothing? about using the points in blue above?

 

the 1st bit well there is mention of no waiting.....


please don't hit Quote...just type we know what we said earlier..

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm at a loss, it does state that is no waiting on the signs so should I appeal or just pay the £60?

 

I am also on benefits and it is a huge chunk out of my fortnightly payments.

 

Thank you for your advice so far

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

no you don't need to pay it but you need to do a bit of self help

cant see you've read one other PPC thread at all???

 

there is a 10 mins grace period..


please don't hit Quote...just type we know what we said earlier..

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

right, the first sign is a prohibition so not a contract

, the second sign is not a contract but an invitation to treat so cant be binding and anyway carries no offer of terms so how can you accept them?

 

there is no illegality involved by either side in this matter, it is civil law, not criminal law.

 

No one gives a stuff as to why your car was where it was, it is completely irrelevant.

 

There is no such thing as mitigation in contract law so forget about it, you will get no sympathy and you will never win an appeal or a court case if that is what you think will help.

 

Now, read and understand a load of other posts, you have more than enough to destroy any legal claim these idiots may make.

Edited by dx100uk
Spacing

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

These clowns would ticket a DPD/Yodel/Parcelforce/UPS van delivering at the location, no waiting is a prohibition, so as EB says no contract can be formed, as it is Private Land, there can be no criminal element.


We could do with some help from you.

PLEASE HELP US TO KEEP THIS SITE RUNNING EVERY POUND DONATED WILL HELP US TO KEEP HELPING OTHERS

 

Have we helped you ...?         Please Donate button to the Consumer Action Group

 

If you want advice on your thread please PM me a link to your thread

 

The bailiff: A 12th Century solution re-branded as Enforcement Agents for the 21st Century to seize and sell debtors goods as before Oh so Dickensian!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You issued me with a parking ticket on 5th September 2018 but I believe it was unlawfully issued. I will not be paying your demand for payment for the following reason:

 

 

The signs are a prohibition so not a contract, as it is private land there can be no criminal element.

 

 

If you choose to pursue me please be aware that I will not enter into any correspondence and this will be the only letter you will receive from me until you answer the specific points raised in my letter.

 

Yours faithfully,

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No, dont send that, it will only cause them to know they are pursuing the right person for starters. At present they dont have a clue who was driving so why are you telling them it was you?

 

It was suggested that you read a bundle of other threads and this is evidence you havent. If you want to write something you need to be more strident so I suggest something like:

 

Dear sirs,

with regard to your claim that a contract was breached I suggest that you find someone who understands english as well as the law to explain to you why there can be no breach of a contract when a contract doesnt exist.

No waiting is a prohibiton, not an offer to park.

 

Consider yourself lucky I have no desire to sue you for breach of the GDPR over this matter but stop wasting my time with your begging letters, you arent getting any money because none is due so you will just have to resit your GCSE's and try it on with someone else.

 

You dont invite then to pursue you or even request further correspondence as they see that as a sign you will pay up if they apply a thick enough layer of bull****.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

thank you,

I did read quite a few posts but could not find one that was relevant to the information that I required.

 

I appreciate the times that you have taken to reply.

Appeal sent

 

Thank you for your email.

I can confirm that your appeal has been received and you will receive a response within 35 days.

 

Please provide any evidence you have to support your appeal, such as a valid disabled badge, evidence of purchases and proof of delivery.

 

Please note, you must include your parking charge notice reference number and vehicle registration mark in order for us to process your appeal.

 

Your PCN, and the associated charges will be placed on hold until a decision has been made and communicated to you.

 

*Important information*;

 

We endeavour to review and respond to appeals within 10 days.

Your appeal response will not be sent from this mailbox, it is the appellant's responsibility to ensure their mailbox/junk box is checked daily to ensure you have the opportunity to pay at the reduced rate within 14 days if your appeal is rejected. After 14 days the charge will revert back to the original amount.

 

Please note; POPLA verification codes are live for 28 days only.

 

Kind Regards,

 

Park Watch

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There are dozens that talk about signage that is prohibitive in nature, looking for one from your site mentioning no waiting isnt necessary as it is the applicable law that counts and there are plenty to choose from.

 

so now you have given them your email address so they can pass it on and get other rentathreats to harass you for free.

 

If you had read more threads you would have seen that we advise to use old fashioned letters so the parking co's are put to the maximum inconvenience and expense in chasing you.

 

A common theme for any alleged debt that is disputed is to NEVER phone them, text them or email them as these methods allow them access to you at no expense.

 

they are also noted fro breaching the data protection laws so expect a load of spam from claims co's and whatever as they sell on lists of contacts to supplement their income and you then get claims management companies on the phone as well as people from the Phillipines working for "Microsoft" telling you by name that your computer is compromised etc.

 

None of this will make any difference to the outcome though, they will still tell you to pay up because they say so and they are still wrong in law

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It's a throw away email address that I can change at the drop of a hat and as far as I know I don't have any rent a threats chasing me for money. I definitely haven't provided them with a contact number. But i do get the odd phone call telling me my internet provider has been stopped.

 

Thanks again for your advice

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Good Morning,

 

The Parking Charge Notice was issued due to the vehicle being on private land for over 36 minutes, where the terms and conditions are 'No Waiting' and 'No Parking'.

 

Please state your grounds for appeal, if you do not wish to make an appeal or make payment the Parking Charge Notice will continue to escalate.

 

Kind Regards.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

go get the original planning permission granted for the whole shopping complex to be built from the relevant councils planning area of their website

 

I bet it says atleast 2hrs even 3hrs free parking.

no PPC can change that


please don't hit Quote...just type we know what we said earlier..

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

ignore them,

they know they are wrong but will not admit they cant read or write properly.

 

As for the notice continuing to escalate,

there is nowhere for it to go other than in the parking worlds fantasy world.

 

they get away with all of this because people generally dont know any better so they worry, pay up and then moan afterwards.

 

We believe in making the parking co worry

- worry they are going out of business because their lies have been exposed and no-one will then pay them becuase the debt isnt real.

 

Sit tight, better to say nothing no as you have created a paper trail and their ignorance or greed wont create a contract that doesnt exist

 

Good Morning,

 

The Parking Charge Notice was issued due to the vehicle being on private land for over 36 minutes, where the terms and conditions are 'No Waiting' and 'No Parking'.

 

Please state your grounds for appeal, if you do not wish to make an appeal or make payment the Parking Charge Notice will continue to escalate.

 

Kind Regards.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've now received my demand for £100

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

  • Recently Browsing   0 Caggers

    No registered users viewing this page.


  • Have we helped you ...?


×
×
  • Create New...