Orchid47

Store Card Debts

style="text-align:center;"> Please note that this topic has not had any new posts for the last 835 days.

If you are trying to post a different story then you should start your own new thread. Posting on this thread is likely to mean that you won't get the help and advice that you need.

If you are trying to post information which is relevant to the story in this thread then please flag it up to the site team and they will allow you to post.

Thank you

Please can you tell me the best way to deal with Store Card Debts?

I have two which I have defaulted on.

John Lewis and M&S.

These cards were both originally taken out pre 1997.

I cant find any of my paperwork pre this date.

I have been paying a minimum amount each month of a £1 for the last 5 years and they are both pressing me at the moment to send them an Income and Expenditure form which personally I feel is none of their business.

What should I do?

I presume if I stop paying them anything they will send straight to their solicitors?

Amounts outstanding are around £5K on each

I do not have an income at the moment

Thank you

First thing to do? CCA them. keep paying as you are. If they cant provide a compliant response, then you stop paying. However, they are perfectly entitled to mark your credit file, so be aware.

AS for repayments, you could tell them that your financial circumstances have not changed, £1 is the most you can pay, and possibly give them a very very simple budget summary.

If they fail to provide the CCA in 12+ 2 days, then you stop paying and they cannot chase you through solicitors or court until they provide one. They can still contact you and ask you to repay though.

So CCA them first, and IF they respond properly, provide a copy of a benefits letter or similar and tell them £1 is all theyre going to get.