Council LO - business rates for student flat from 15yrs ago!!

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 2633 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

I received a phone call today from my previous council,

the gentleman said he called me with regards to my very old address dating back to 1999-2004.

I was a student then and found the flat through a normal Estate Agents,

signed the Tenancy Agreement and moved in.

Today, 2017, four children later

I get a phone call from the council enforcement team informing me that I owe over £4000.00 in BUSINESS RATES.

I was never informed that it was an "office" I was living in and to my total amazement they even took to me to court and I have a liability order from 2005.

This is approx a year after moving out.

I wasn't the only tenant,

there was a gentleman above me in another flat

and they built yet another flat in the loft when I moved out.

My flat had a bathroom with a bath and a kitchen and looked nothing like an office.

My LL at the time informed me that I wouldn't have to pay council as I was a student and it would have been included anyway.

The gentleman from the council informed me that I am 100% liable and even though landlord or estate agent deceived me.

I am in total shock and feel that I have no choice other than to start to pay this huge amount.

There weren't any letters chasing the so called Business Rates throughout my time there

and all correspondence from Landlord stated My name, then, First Floor Flat, 33 So-called Road and Postcode.

Unfortunately I don't have more than 3 letters after that many years and I feel well and truly confused.