BankFodder BankFodder

newuser123

Student Loan - Scotland, 2005 - Statue Barred?

style="text-align:center;"> Please note that this topic has not had any new posts for the last 1303 days.

If you are trying to post a different story then you should start your own new thread. Posting on this thread is likely to mean that you won't get the help and advice that you need.

If you are trying to post information which is relevant to the story in this thread then please flag it up to the site team and they will allow you to post.

Thank you

Hi there,

As an Irish citizen I started uni in 2001 in Scotland on the basis it would be free of charge due to reciprocal agreements between Ireland and Scotland.

Around the year I graduated they brought in the Graduate Endowment charge of £2k.

This was subsequently scrapped a few years later after much outcry.

I vaguely remember getting a letter addressed to my parents house after graduating but felt it was a mistake as I hadn't heard anything about it before that.

I headed off travelling and never heard anything again.

I also had heard the scheme had been scrapped so duly forgot about it.

Fast forward 11 years and I've just started receiving statements etc from the Scottish Student Loans Company to my own address.

They must have gotten this as I lived in UK briefly again and filed a tax return form when I left the UK stating my Irish address.

I never took out any loans during uni and funded myself my working hard throughout.

I can only assume this Graduate Endowment debt has been sold to the Scottish Student Loans Co.

I live back in Ireland now.

After a recent career change I now only earn £25k, am single, have a mortgage and a variety of other smaller loans.

I cannot afford to pay £2,400 at £240 a month.

If this was a loan I agreed to for money I borrowed I would find a way to pay it back.

My question is - is this Statue Barred or not?

I cannot seem to get a clear answer anywhere.