contracted hours, equal opportunities or racial discrimination?

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 2753 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

I've been working at my current employment since may 2014 on a 17hr contract but always worked 30+hrs eventually last year I was taken up to a 35hr contract n then I'd been working 40+hrs. We now have a new boss/owner of the shop who always wants to cut the staffs hours down as he says it is over the shops working hours. He got rid of 2 members of staff who were still under probationary period claiming they no longer had the hours available for them and we also lost another member due to not being flexible thru childcare 9-2 were her available hours.

My hours have now been dropped to 25hrs despite still being on a 35hr contract and he has now bought in his girlfriend to work in the shop aswell (after cutting all our hours) who can only work 9:30-2:30 due to childcare!! She doesn't have to work during half terms or any time that the kids have broken up from school!! How is this fair? Or equal opportunities?? The males in the store are made to work alone and despite only seeing their children once every 2 weeks on a weekend are still made to work those weekends being told childcare is not his problem to work around!! He has also made remarks about us english should have the same work ethic as him (indian)Is there anything I can do about any of this as the shop managers and supervisors just roll on their back and agree to it all. (They've still kept their contracted hours) I know it's a bit lengthy but appreciate your time and input. Thank you.