Returning to nursing after being struck off

Please note that this topic has not had any new posts for the last 1802 days.

If you are trying to post a different story then you should start your own new thread. Posting on this thread is likely to mean that you won't get the help and advice that you need.

If you are trying to post information which is relevant to the story in this thread then please flag it up to the site team and they will allow you to post.

Thank you

Hi, I was employed for 7 years as a support worker/assistant nurse I trained as a psychiatric nurse (4 years) I then worked for private health care (the priory) for 18 months, then moved on to work for the NHS (high secure services) I worked here for 4 years.

In the last 3 months of my employment, I made 4 medication errors. (none at any other time in my career) No patient was harmed. I have no criminal record. At the time I made the mistakes I was going through a divorce from my wife of 18 years. I was under an extreme amount of stress. I left the job when I had a car crash on my way to work. I was not sacked. I continued to practice as an agency nurse for 8 months with no other problems. within this time the NHS employers sent me for a psychiatric evaluation.

I was still experiencing a lot of stress so I agreed to go. 2 weeks later I had been given a diagnosis by post of a serious mental health disorder. On top of this I received a letter from The nursing council stating that The NHS had whistle blown to them about my practice, subsequently they had sent me a letter saying I was struck off. I was in so much stress and anxiety at the diagnosis that I didnt contest the ruling.