Dodgy car from dealer - Have I screwed myself?

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 2063 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hey folks

I have some experience buying and selling cars however I have recently had my first bad experience.I bought a car from a dealer about 180miles from my home (it was a somewhat rare car and I live in the north of Scotland). The dealer seems fairly reputable with a large premises and shifts a lot of high value vehicles. The vehicle I purchased they had received as a trade in and were advertising it as "Sold as seen". The dealer also stated the vehicle was sold as seen with no warranty when I was viewing it.

The vehicle seemed to be in good roadworthy condition with a full 12 months MOT, good service history and low miles (62k). The dealer also stated that I shouldnt have a problem getting it home as he had driven it himself for a couple of weeks after they received it. after viewing I decided to buy the car, the dealer reiterated that the vehicle was sold as seen and I filled in the information for the V5 and signed a receipt. HOWEVER the receipt states that the vehicle was "Sold as spares or repair",I did notice this at the time but said nothing of it (stupidly). The dealer did not even hint that the vehicle was not roadworthy and even forced me to show proof of tax and insurance before I drove it off his lot.