Redundancy

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 2279 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hi guys,

I will keep this as brief as I can but presenting the facts. My boss (MD) give me an "off the record" talk to say he was making me redundant, the grounds of which are nothing to do with my performance but rather that he is wanting to take the business in a different direction.

I've been working there as a permanent full-time employee for 16 months. in Northern Ireland Approx 50% of my job is identifying and completing tenders, while the remaining share is focused on raising purchase orders, general admin and telephone etc.

The unusual thing is that these responsibilities will exist even after I'm made redundant but apparently to a lesser degree. The MD also claims that some other staff, "low level" staff such as factory operatives are being made redundant too although I do not subscribe to that claim.

My question is this, given my length of service and the fact that the job I'm fulfilling will still be required, even at a reduced capacity, should he not offer me a salary adjustment rather than all out redundancy?

Please also advise that correct procedure he must follow and what pay I am entitled to ask for? I understand I'm entitled to at least 1 week pay under 2 years, although my contract is vague but suggest one month notice. I also have 14 days holiday pay, I suspect this will be included too.

Redundancy for "operational" or financial reasons are very tricky to quantify. as you have been there for too short a period to have any statutory protection there is little that can be doen to protect you if the selection criteria are not discriminatory.