How to get a credit card if you live abroad

Cynic1947

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 2332 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

I'm a British citizen resident in the EU. I have a UK bank account/credit card account (shared with my wife) with the Co-operative bank but they keep reducing the credit limit to the point where it's useless for major purchases. I've asked them to increase the limit but they refuse as I don't use the card up to the limit every month. British banks (and financial organisations generally) don't want to know you if you live outside the UK (whatever happened to the Single European Act?).

I'd like a UK credit card as I have a regular UK income. Does anyone know how or where I can get one?

Open an account with you local bank where you now live. That's what I did, was given cheque book and debit card.

You obviously didn't read my question properly; I want a UK account/credit card.

I did read it, once up and running, you apply for a credit card. You already have a uk bank account and trying for a second, while living abroad, might make them think there is an attempt to launder money.

I'm a British citizen resident in the EU. I have a UK bank account/credit card account (shared with my wife) with the Co-operative bank but they keep reducing the credit limit to the point where it's useless for major purchases. I've asked them to increase the limit but they refuse as I don't use the card up to the limit every month. British banks (and financial organisations generally) don't want to know you if you live outside the UK (whatever happened to the Single European Act?).