Used Partner's Student Oyster - FULL CASE & VERDICT(**SETTLED OUT OF COURT**)

style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 3067 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hi there,

I thought I should write this post on Consumer Action Group as some of the threads on this forum provided me with some valuable advice when I first got caught about three weeks ago using my partner's student oyster card on Transport for London. The case has now been settled out of court and I thought I should share my experience with others who may now be in a similar position.

I had been using my student's oyster card for about 8 months buying weekly travelcards with the occasional use of top-up (when the travelcard was not valid for those zones or when the travelcard had expired for that week) before I was caught in early June 2015 by a revenue inspection officer.

I was asked various questions about intention to use and how long I had been using it for, to which I combined both fact and fiction

(I was under duress and, like so many others, I had no idea what the potential repercussions could be).

I was then cautioned ("You do not have to say anything. But it may harm your defence if you do not mention when questioned something which you later rely on in court.

Anything you do say may be given in evidence") to which she proceeded to ask more questions

(such as 'do you have another oyster card? 'do you have any money to get home?', 'who buys the travelcards..?' etc)

before I said goodbye and walked away

(remember that once you are cautioned you have the RIGHT to respond 'no comment' and to walk away until you have the opportunity to seek legal representation).