style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 3213 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hello all,

I am very new at this so would appreciate any help available.

The long and short of it is, that I have just found out my wife has run up debts by taking credit cards out in my name,

without my knowledge,

and has been paying the minimum payment on all of them,

thus incurring interest, to the extent that my account is maxed to the overdraft limit every month.

She finally told me about this as my mortgage finishes in September and I will be unable to pay it off.

As I was unaware of this until this week, am I liable for all the debts (including past interest paid)

or is there anything that can be done to solve this mess?

Having read through these forums it does seem I am in a better position that many as I do have employment and am bringing in an income each month.

My wife is not on my account, in fact does not have a bank account herself.

She is also not on the mortgage.

I am due to retire in three years, and there is no possibility of repaying all the debts in that time.

I can sustain the minimum payments, but the debts will not be cleared in my lifetime and it is making me ill with worry.

Can I explain to the credit card companies what has happened without penalty to my wife?

What to do???

Any help appreciated.

Why can you not pay your mortgage? (Repayment? Endowment??)

That needs to be your priority, over and above any unsecured debts.

Priority debts include taxes, utility bills and secured lending.

Unsecured lending (even their "minimum payments") should take second place, especially if you never took out the cards!