Car / Pedestrian accident, help please.

Mayfair05
style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 3691 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

Please click the "Report " link

at the bottom of one of the posts.

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

Thanks

Hi, newbie here. Hope this is the right section.

I was driving and someone ran out in front of my taxi. She ran out just a few metres in front of me and despite going fairly slow, and braking, I couldn't stop.

I heard nothing about it, as the police report sent to me said she was ok and only had very minor injuries.

Jump forward 2 months, I get a letter from my insurer saying that she was claiming for damages and injuries. It says that she is claiming 'I was driving without due care and attention'.

My insurance company have been absolutely useless. I feel like I've been found guilty with no defense. The letter actually said that due to economic reasons, it's beneficial to accept full responsibility and pay out!

I'm fuming, she was absolutely hammered drunk, and made a mistake, and I'm paying for it.

I had 4 customers in my taxi at the time who saw it and are writing me witness statements, and I got a couple of other drivers too.

The insurance company just cancelled my insurance! So I'm out of work too, to add to it. After I had some legal advice they have agreed to re-insure me at £5400.

I'm doing all I can, but any extra help or advice would be very much appreciated! I've obviously googled things but almost everything I've found is just solicitor companies wanting pedestrians to sue the drivers.

Any advice please?