Urgent help with defending a CCJ. Should I just settle?

Please note that this topic has not had any new posts for the last 2671 days.

If you are trying to post a different story then you should start your own new thread. Posting on this thread is likely to mean that you won't get the help and advice that you need.

If you are trying to post information which is relevant to the story in this thread then please flag it up to the site team and they will allow you to post.

Thank you

Hi- Its my first time here and would really appreciate some advice. Last year I took out a 12 month gym contract at my local gym. When I signed up I explained to the membership person that I was potentially going through a break up and would not be able to afford to continue the membership if this happened. They agreed to relook at the membership should that happen and that they could possibly help with me not being tied up for 12 months. This break up then happened and I cancelled my membership as I couldn't afford it on my own whilst trying to keep a house over mine and my sons head.

Since then they have applied to the county court for the rest of the contract plus fee's making a total of £850.

I printed off a copy of the emails and sent it back to the court to defend my claim. I am now waiting for a hearing date.

Where I need the advice is that I have today received a phone call from their debt recovery agents saying that they would settle with no CCJ at £600 but it would need to be paid within 4 weeks. I am not in a position to afford this. They then said that a CCJ will already be in place and the courts will have to decide whether to remove it or not. Is this true? And how can I have a CCJ in place when it hasn't actually gone to court yet? They also said that even if I win the case then I will have to pay the court charges and their solicitors costs?!?! They said that this would amount to at least £600 anyway.