Jump to content


  • Tweets

  • Posts

    • Thank you 😊  Just wanted to prepare myself mentally incase they pull out some rabbit out of a hat with these bodyshops as they will most likely be places they've used regularly in the past and over 150miles away from where I am.
    • I see the Brexit-ish are again delaying  implementing their 'grate deal' 'protecting the UKs borders' that they pressed through with the wholehearted support of MPs like smugg - who is now one of the main moaners saying this inflation raising and business destroying 'great deal'  shouldn't be implemented. Of course 3 of the benefits of NOT implementing the Brexitish grate deal as the Brexitish negotiated are:   1. Less UK businesses will collapse 2. UK inflation NOT increased by 0.6% (hence fiddling the figures to us scraping NOT being in a Brexit generated recession) 3. The problems will be dumped in labours lap after the GE   "Analysis by specialist credit insurance firm Allianz Trade said the removal of tariffs on the goods would reduce inflation by 0.6 percentage points, and cut import costs by close to 7 billion pounds ($8.8 billion) in nominal terms."   reuters.com WWW.REUTERS.COM     https://www.reuters.com/world/uk/uk-economy-grows-by-01-february-2024-04-12/   Rees-Mogg warns post-Brexit border charges could be inflationary WWW.THELONDONECONOMIC.COM According to reports, Britain faces a £2 billion post-Brexit bill on European food imports from the end of the month.  
    • Thank you . Please stand by for a reply later on  
    • Sorry just get worried that they will make my life harder than they already have lol   Bought the car around 12th Sept 2022 for £78,000 from clinkard cars.   Performance, Prestigious and Specialist cars in Romsey, Hampshire | Clinkard Performance Cars WWW.CLINKARDCARS.CO.UK Performance, Prestigious and Specialist cars Dealers in Romsey, Hampshire Was a 2019 Range Rover with 25k miles, £20k deposit at £750pm pcp over a 4 year period.   Finance company are alphera (bmw finance) spoke to them in October 2023 about the damage my bodyshop advised me of but they told me to deal with the dealership. Paid for the repair myself as I was told the extended warranty I paid for (recommended through dealer) wouldn't cover it as it was an existing fault and not mechanical breakdown. When I got the £40k offer from the dealership they still didn't want to get involved unless I got an independent inspection done. Used Elite Forensic inspections as they seem highly rated online (more comprehensive than your average AA inspection). I just looked online for thr best inspections for customers eho hsbe alre purchased the car. Their report was super comprehensive over like 50 pages of text and photos. Comparisons to the advert photos against what the inspector saw made in clear that the damage was before I purchase it. Got the report back 10th Jan 2024 and couldn't believe that they'd picked up the level of accident the car had been in and raised an official complaint through Alphera, they couldn't come to a decision with 8 weeks so raised with FOS. Around the 7th March 2024. Small issues started within the first week of purchasing like ambient light not working on the side the car was hit and car randomly switching off completely when I'd stop at traffic lights/junctions. Dealers eventually got this sorted which I appreciate, but doesn't change the fact that they didn't check the car as well as I'd been told it had been checked and they'd sold me an accident repaired car and initially tried to say all cars have had paint due to stone chips etc. Also turns out the car had only had 1 service before I serviced the car in mid 2023 (when the service light came on the car).   So far Clinkard have had my car for nearly a month (so my wife and I hsve had yo share cars since), they've said we've taken the far to 2x garages so far to inspect it and got 1 more garage to take it to. Currently refusing to tell me what those 2 garages have said so far with the attitude of because you've gone through FOS we have to follow the correct channels and respond to the complaint through them which is quite annoying.
    • This has been playing on my mind a little so been reading. Am I right in saying that if the original debt was regulated under the CCA and below 25k they can't use HCEO? 
  • Recommended Topics

  • Our picks

    • If you are buying a used car – you need to read this survival guide.
      • 1 reply
    • Hello,

      On 15/1/24 booked appointment with Big Motoring World (BMW) to view a mini on 17/1/24 at 8pm at their Enfield dealership.  

      Car was dirty and test drive was two circuits of roundabout on entry to the showroom.  Was p/x my car and rushed by sales exec and a manager into buying the mini and a 3yr warranty that night, sale all wrapped up by 10pm.  They strongly advised me taking warranty out on car that age (2017) and confirmed it was honoured at over 500 UK registered garages.

      The next day, 18/1/24 noticed amber engine warning light on dashboard , immediately phoned BMW aftercare team to ask for it to be investigated asap at nearest garage to me. After 15 mins on hold was told only their 5 service centres across the UK can deal with car issues with earliest date for inspection in March ! Said I’m not happy with that given what sales team advised or driving car. Told an amber warning light only advisory so to drive with caution and call back when light goes red.

      I’m not happy to do this, drive the car or with the after care experience (a sign of further stresses to come) so want a refund and to return the car asap.

      Please can you advise what I need to do today to get this done. 
       

      Many thanks 
      • 81 replies
    • Housing Association property flooding. https://www.consumeractiongroup.co.uk/topic/438641-housing-association-property-flooding/&do=findComment&comment=5124299
      • 161 replies
    • We have finally managed to obtain the transcript of this case.

      The judge's reasoning is very useful and will certainly be helpful in any other cases relating to third-party rights where the customer has contracted with the courier company by using a broker.
      This is generally speaking the problem with using PackLink who are domiciled in Spain and very conveniently out of reach of the British justice system.

      Frankly I don't think that is any accident.

      One of the points that the judge made was that the customers contract with the broker specifically refers to the courier – and it is clear that the courier knows that they are acting for a third party. There is no need to name the third party. They just have to be recognisably part of a class of person – such as a sender or a recipient of the parcel.

      Please note that a recent case against UPS failed on exactly the same issue with the judge held that the Contracts (Rights of Third Parties) Act 1999 did not apply.

      We will be getting that transcript very soon. We will look at it and we will understand how the judge made such catastrophic mistakes. It was a very poor judgement.
      We will be recommending that people do include this adverse judgement in their bundle so that when they go to county court the judge will see both sides and see the arguments against this adverse judgement.
      Also, we will be to demonstrate to the judge that we are fair-minded and that we don't mind bringing everything to the attention of the judge even if it is against our own interests.
      This is good ethical practice.

      It would be very nice if the parcel delivery companies – including EVRi – practised this kind of thing as well.

       

      OT APPROVED, 365MC637, FAROOQ, EVRi, 12.07.23 (BRENT) - J v4.pdf
        • Like

Kwik Fit Full Service - still not getting what I paid for and now can't use my car!!!


Appalled by KwikFit
style="text-align: center;">  

Thread Locked

because no one has posted on it for the last 3926 days.

If you need to add something to this thread then

 

Please click the "Report " link

 

at the bottom of one of the posts.

 

If you want to post a new story then

Please

Start your own new thread

That way you will attract more attention to your story and get more visitors and more help 

 

Thanks

Recommended Posts

Hi all! This is my first time ever creating a thread but I'm looking for some advice please!

 

Basically, me and my partner booked our car in for a full service in our local Kwik Fit garage. We took the car there before 9am as requested and left it there. Around lunch time we had a phone call saying they had identified additional work that needed to be undertaken on the car - a replacement of 2 tyres and also the replacement of the exhaust box. In good faith my partner listened to the advice and agreed that the work could be carried out.

 

We received a phone call a few hours later and dutifully went to collect the car as requested. We paid a whopping £377.10 in total for this, a huge struggle for us as I am being made redundant. But my partner works in a steel works in an industrial area without public transport and so relies heavily on his car to get to work. We understand the importance of this and so paid the £377 without complaint!

 

Ever since we have had nothing but problems with the car. We have an engine warning light that keeps coming on and there is a strange noise coming from the back of the car and at one point I started the car and there was a loud clunking noise from the rear of the car. I was so concerned at this, that straight away I took leave from work and took the car into a local garage where I was at the time.

 

They explained to us that in no way had a full service been undertaken on the car. All kinds of things that had been ticked on our Kwik Fit service sheet - such as the changing of air filters, the oil change, and the replacement of oil filter - had not been done. There was proof of this in the fact there were no marks where the oil filter had been changed and this is impossible to do without leaving evidence. Also the oil had not been changed and in fact the car was now overfull with oil - almost as if some one had just topped it up instead of changing it! The same with things such as checking and lubricating the bonnet catch. The catch was so stiff that it took the mechanic quite a while to be able to properly open and close the bonnet. So not only had they not checked and lubricated the catch, but this suggests that none of the "under the bonnet" work has been done either!!

 

To top it all off they have not re-fitted the exhaust properly. So when undertaking their identified 'extra work needed' they had done such a bad job that my exhaust is now knocking and making clunking noises when I start the engine and we have an engine warning light on!!

 

So we need our money back to pay another garage to undertake, not just the full service, but to fix the problems Kwik Fit caused with the exhaust and warning light! We are not driving the car because of the engine warning light and so now I am paying for trains back and forth to work and my partner is paying for trains and then taxis!!

 

I originally called Kwik Fit about this over a week ago. They said the area manager needed to investigate as I want a refund. They quote three business days for him to contact us!

IT HAS BEEN EIGHT DAYS!!

We have heard nothing. I have made repeated phone calls and keep getting told that nothing can happen till the Area Manager contacts us. They have called him and left messages and also emailed him and still nothing. They tell me they cannot ask anyone else to look into this matter without him first responding! And yet I just keep waiting for a response!

 

What can I do?? Do I really have to just sit here and keep racking up bigger public transport and taxi costs because I cannot afford to pay another garage to fix my car because kwik fit won't respond to me?!

 

Does anyone know if there is a governing body or a regulatory body for the motor industry I can contact?

 

Any help/advice would be greatly appreciated!!

 

Thanks!

Link to post
Share on other sites

  • 2 weeks later...

First thing I would do was to get your bank to do a chargeback to your A/C if you paid by card , expain you have not recieved goods and services as requested. Demand a charge back. That seems to be easier with a credit card but more difficult with a debit card as most banks arn`t aware of their responsibilties!

 

If you paid by cash I`d storm in there and demand a refund pronto.

 

Kwik Fit are rip off merchants who should be avoided like the plague. They have a virtual rep on here as a damage limitation exercise, they may hurry your refund along a bit, butI wouldn`t bank on it.

 

Good luck!

Edited by CHRIS44G
Link to post
Share on other sites

card charge back should be your first step. a letter of compliant to trading standards who should arrange inspection of your car. time and time again Kwik Fit have been warned about ripping off motorist and have failed to learn. receiving fines appearing on watchdog. they always seen to find none existent work.

even bailiffs cant make up the charges like these people

:???: what me. never heard of you never had a debt with you.
Link to post
Share on other sites

I am truely sorry to hear of your troubles with kwik fit but as i keep asking people "Why do you use KF for services?" AT BEST , they are only tyre fitters and also supply exhaust systems (which according to internet forums they sometimes even mess this simple job up).

Please in future go to a family run GARAGE, where their reputation is their best salesman.

Link to post
Share on other sites

  • 2 months later...

Didn't get what you paid for?

My daughter (trusting soul) went to Kwikfit for brake pads because they gave the cheapest quote.

They told her she needed pads AND disks all round and she believed them - very foolish/

£640 later she had the wit to get the old parts, we had the disks checked and they were less than half worn, still another 40 - 60K miles left.

Checking with a main BMW dealer they would have done exactly the same job for £507 (£125 less) and I suspect using better quality parts.

As another contributor above said WHY USE KWIKFIT, anyone who watches BBC Watchdog, or Googles KWIKFIT COMPLAINTS knows their dishonest tactics.

Link to post
Share on other sites

  • 2 weeks later...
  • Recently Browsing   0 Caggers

    • No registered users viewing this page.

  • Have we helped you ...?


×
×
  • Create New...