RHA

Prosecuted for failing to present a valid ticket

style="text-align:center;"> Please note that this topic has not had any new posts for the last 2514 days.

If you are trying to post a different story then you should start your own new thread. Posting on this thread is likely to mean that you won't get the help and advice that you need.

If you are trying to post information which is relevant to the story in this thread then please flag it up to the site team and they will allow you to post.

Thank you

Hi All,

There are a few threads here which talk about train fares going to court, but all seem to have their own little quirks making them unique. Any advice on my situation would be much appreciated.

A few weeks ago I received a note from a court across the country saying I owe a £200 fine.

Upon contacting the court they said it was for not presenting a valid rail ticket.

I do recall the incident 18 months ago, when I was a student I was stopped and found to be carrying an out of date railcard

- the new one had been posted to me by the NatWest but I hadn't gotten around to putting it in my wallet yet.

The ticket inspect told me that I'd be sent a penalty fare (£20) and would have the opportunity to appeal or pay it.

Fair enough I though - I hoped the railway might accept the appeal as I did indeed own a valid railcard but was prepared to pay the £20 for the simple mistake.

The inspector wrote my address down from my driving licence, but I also gave him my term-time address in his notebook as this would make picking up the penalty fare easier,

and I went on my way without any sort of receipt.

Weeks turned to months and I forgot about the issue, assuming the railway had let this go

- after all it's a £3 discount on a train fare we're quibbling over.

Little did I know, however, that address I wrote in that notebook hadn't made it's way onto an envelope correctly enough for the postman to find me,